Replacing leibnix

I’ve been using my own version of Leibnix on a Linksys WRT54GS with OpenWrt v0.9 since 2006.  When the Raspberry Pi 3 came out earlier this year I replaced the Linksys with the Raspberry Pi 3.  Ever since I had the problem that Leibnix stopped working after some time.  I’ve looked into the source code today and noticed that the serial port handling was not properly protecting shared variables with mutexes or so.  And since the Raspberry Pi 3 is much faster and is a quad core device, the chances of getting into problems due to not protecting shared variables have become much higher.  In 2006 I received the source code for my version of Leibnix from the original author before it was put up on sourceforge.  Probably the problem was fixed a long time ago, but I always wanted to start using eibd anyway since it allowed me reconfigure my EIB devices without disconnecting the Linksys.  Now that I discovered that the leibnix source code I use needs some work I thought that the time has come to put leibnix to rest and use something else.  I googled around for installation instructions for eibd on the Raspberry Pi and found that someone has more or less properly documented the whole process.  That’s also when I’ve discovered the knxd fork of eibd.  The installation went rather smoothly.  Now I’m installing Openhab2 and you know what…? Openhab2 doesn’t start…  The workaround mentioned there however does work 🙂

Plaats een reactie